UERMMMC ALUMNI FOUNDATION USA, INC. RESIDENTS AWARD COMMITTEE JULY 21, 2011 REPORT

Renato L. Raymundo, M.D.--- ChairmanJacqueline Fabello-Gamiao, M.D.-- Co-ChairmanMembers:Ex-Officio MembersManuel Blas, M.D.Isabelita B. Casibang, M.D.Neda Ballon-Reyes, M.D.Renato Querubin, M.D.Romel Aquino, M.D.Alfaretta Tan-Reyes, M.D. (Phil.)Andres Borromeo, M.D. (Phil.) – Liaison

There is nothing new to report about the activity of the Residents Award Committee since the last meeting in the Spring of 2011.

In the summer AFUSA meeting of 2007, The Residents Award Committee was started. We established the purposes, goals and procedures for the committee including the criteria for the selection of the awardees then. An annual budget of \$1000 was approved by the BOT of the AFUSA. It was recommended and approved in that meeting that we will have ten awardees every year with an award of \$100 each. Due to our very strict criteria in choosing the awardees we had fewer recipients than was originally stipulated.

In the summer AFUSA meeting of 2010, The Residents Award Committee recommended to the BOT of the AFUSA and was approved that the RAC of the AFUSA be allowed to uniformly increase the award to each recipient within the budget, if there are fewer awardees chosen for that year. This was recommended to make it worthwhile for the awardees after the set strict criteria and also to make it as an incentive for the residents to work exceptionally good and become outstanding medical doctors.

We implemented this increase in award to the recipients last January 2011 awarding. The AFUSA-RAC would like to request The Board of Trustees to continue this procedure for the future awarding.

We will follow up with the Philippine committee about implementing the inclusion of the input from the undergraduates in the criteria for the selection of the awardees.

We would like to say that The Residents Award Committee is doing its best to comply with the requirements as to documentations and paperwork for the IRS requirements.

Respectfully Submitted by:

Renato L. Raymundo, M.D. Chairman- Residents Award Committee Member BOT AFUSA