State of the Alumni Association By Susan P. Suntay, M.D., President, 2010-2012

Greetings and blessings to all!

The state of our alumni association is excellent, friendly, and peaceful.

As the MAAAI President for 2010 - 2012, I am grateful to all the MAAAI Executive and Chapter Officers who assisted and fully cooperated with me and our management team in bringing back the warm camaraderie we have always known thru peace and unity.

I would also like to thank our Dean, Alfaretta Tan-Reyes, for all her advice, Dr. Renato Querubin and Dr. Vickie B. Casibang and the AFUSA Board of Trustees and Officers, for their advice, partnership, and continued support, Mrs. Esther Querubin and the Alliance & Friends, for their great support, and to all the peaceloving and cooperative fellow alumni & members who worked with our administrative team towards our return to a more unified alumni association.

We did it!

EVENTS & ACCOMPLISHMENTS:

July 1-4, 2010 : 22nd Annual Convention & Reunion at the Newport Beach Marriott Hotel. Very successful! Hosted by the MAAAI – So. CA Chapter. Our thanks goes to Dr. Andy de la Llana, Convention Chairman and Dr. Neda Ballon-Reyes, Co-Chair & President-Elect, and to all the So. CA Chapter Officers & Members. Net Income : \$41, 263.87 . Newly elected (2010 – 2012) MAAAI Officers & Dr. Susan P. Suntay, as President were inducted into office.

July – August 2010: Covered the financial obligations for the programs benefiting the College of Medicine initiated by the previous administration of Dr. Irene I. Manalapaz with the reissuance of checks for the total of \$45,000 to Dean Tan-Reyes (\$11,000 for initial settlement plus bank fees, \$1,000 a year for the \$30,000 Dr. Felipa Diaz Scholarship Fund directives, \$3,000 of which has already been distributed).

February 2011 – Celebrated the 1st Golden Jubilarians (Class 1961) and the Silver Jubilarians (Class'86) at the Century Hotel in Manila, Philippines. Sponsored by the MAA in Manila, PHL. Congratulations to Dr. Jed Inciong, President, MAA & Officers and Class'86! The MAAAI Executive Council made a decision to honor the \$30,000 Dra.Felipa Diaz Student & Faculty Scholarship Fund to be distributed at \$1,000 annually following Dra. Diaz' wishes.

March 2011 – Fully cooperated with the AFUSA Pre-Convention Meeting in Baltimore, Maryland. Also attended the successful Biennial Induction Dinner-Dance of the MarVADC Chapter. Congratulations to Dr. Orson Battad, President and thank you to Dr. Nanette Pasatiempo, as outgoing President & her administrative team for a job well done.

July 21-24, 2011 – 23rd Annual Convention & Reunion at the Chicago Downtown Marriott. Very successful and there was a return to peace, unity and camaraderie with all the attending alumni officers and members. Great celebrations for the Golden (Class'61) & the Silver (Class'86) Jubilarians. Celebrated the (30th

Year Anniversary of the UERM-AFUSA,Inc. Our heartfelt thanks to our Co-Host, the MAAAI – Midwest Chapter and to Dr. Zosimo Herrera, Convention Chairman and President, the Midwest Chapter for a job well done. Net Income: \$53,032.17 . The 2011 CBL was approved and ratified. Our thanks to the excellent work of the 2011 CBL Committee and Dr.Bob Moorjani, Chairman-CBL Committee.

January 29, 2012 – MAAAI thru its President, Dr. Susan P. Suntay gave the MML Investment distribution of \$25,000 to Dean Alfaretta Tan-Reyes for the UERM Student & Faculty Scholarship Grants. A Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) was signed by the Dean, Dr. Romeo Divinagracia, Dr. Neda Ballon-Reyes, and Dr. Suntay. MAAAI also donated \$5,000 to the UERM Iligan City Medical Mission after it was devastated by "Typhoon Sendong".

May 12, 2012 – MAAAI Executive Council First Pre-Convention Meeting held at the Hyatt Regency O'Hare Hotel in Chicago, IL. The Council formed the first MAAAI Board of Directors (BOD) according to the 2011 CBL which is comprised of all the Chapter Presidents, and they elected Dr. Fausto O. Magno, President of the Midwest Chapter as its first Chairman of the BOD.

Discussion of preparations for the 24th Annual Convention & Reunion at the San Francisco Marriott Marquis Hotel on July 5-8, 2012 and the 2012 Election of Officers Rules and Procedures occurred. Our heartfelt thanks to our Co-Host, the No. CA Chapter and Dr. Carmen A. Agcaoili, Convention Chair & President, No. CA Chapter for all their hard work for the upcoming convention & reunion.

May 12,2012 – Inducted the newly elected President, Dr. Fausto O. Magno and the Officers of the MAAAI-Midwest Chapter at their Induction Dinner-Dance at the Hyatt Regency O'Hare Hotel.

JULY 7, 2012 – ELECTION OF THE MAAAI Executive Officers. Chairman of the Nomination & Election Committee: Dr. Edgar Banez. Co-Chairman : Dr. Neda Ballon-Reyes, President-Elect.

CANDIDATES: **President-Elect**: Dr. Policarpio (Paul) Hamor '70 and Dr. Bhagwan (Bob) Moorjani '87; **Secretary**: Dr. Irene R. Igual '76; **Treasurer**: Dr. Eva Padilla-Wright '86 **Auditor** : Dr. Ma.Teresa (Teri) Pastor '78.

PERTINENT ELECTION RULES according to the 2011 CBL: Lifetime and registered and paid members 30 days prior to election can vote. No Absentee ballots or proxy votes are allowed. Election is on Saturday, July 7, 2012 from 8 to 10 am only.

We hope to see you all in San Francisco on July 5 - 8. To register, go to *www.SignUpMaster.com/uerm* or *www.uermmmc.org* or contact Dr. Carmen Agcaoili or Dr. Tina Manio or any officers for further information.

God bless everyone and safe travels.

At your service, Susan.